The fine for those who plead guilty to fishing without a license is $50 and 10 license suspension points. Colorado Revised Statute 33-6-107(6) states that anyone over the age of 16 who fishes MUST have a valid fishing license. Those under 16 years of age may fish without a license and are entitled to the full daily bag limit for the species that they fish for. If you just pay the fine (pleading guilty to the offense) you will receive 10 license suspension points on your hunting/fishing license. Read more below to find out how this can affect your year-round hunting and fishing privileges. Hunters and anglers who accumulate more than 20 license suspension points can have their hunting and fishing privileges revoked!
2015 Colorado Fishing Tickets Issued By Colorado Parks and Wildlife
The spring and summer fishing seasons will soon be in full swing in Colorado. The end of hunting season sees many sportsmen and women trade rifles for fly rods and shells for bass spinners. While fishing can seem like the perfect casual spring and summer activity, anglers should be careful that they follow the applicable state laws in their area. The fees and license points can affect more than just your fishing trip. Before paying the fine, you should talk with an attorney about your ticket. The Law Office of Nathaniel Gilbert gives 100% free consultations on all fishing and boating tickets; Call Nate to hear what options you might have available.
Additionally, if you have any fish in your possession at the time, you can receive an additional fine of $35 and 5 additional points for the first fish, and $10 and 1 point for every fish after that! The fees and point assessments can add up quickly with such liberal bag limits in Colorado. For example, a fisherman who forgets his license and reels in 6 fish may receive $125 in fines and 20 license suspension points. Because this angler has 20 or more points, he may not get to hunt or fish at all for the next few years! Click the link for more information on Colorado License Suspension Points.
Colorado Fishing Violation Lawyer Nathaniel Gilbert has experience with wildlife violations in several states and can help make the best decision for you and your family if you are facing a Fishing Violation. Many fishing tickets can be handled on a flat fee basis. As an avid outdoorsman, Nate understands what is at stake when your hunting and fishing license is in danger of suspension and will work diligently to get you back in the field and on the water. Click here for information on Colorado Fishing Violations or here for information on, or if you have received a Colorado Hunting Violation.