Yes and no. Technically, guides do not need licenses in Colorado to provide guiding services for fishing and hunting trips. However, unlicensed guides must be employed or contracted by licensed outfitters. Outfitters must be licensed in Colorado if they are providing outfitting services on land that they do not personally own. So really, yes, there must be a license involved somewhere in order to guide in Colorado.
Colorado Revised Statutes (CRS) Title 33 states the penalty for being in unlawful possession of fish as $35 in fines and 5 license suspension points for the first fish. However, for each additional fish, the fine is $10 and 1 license suspension point. An individual unlawfully in possession of 5 fish, for example, would be fined $75 and be given 9 license suspension points.
Colorado’s Big Game License Application for Limited Licenses is April 4th. Hunters looking to either draw a limited license or build preference points must apply by either paper application or online prior to April 4th. Remember that this is the last year for paper applications, and all applications for the 2018 draw must be submitted online.
Colorado Hunting License Violations can be a serious matter even for what may seem a trivial piece of false or wrong information. If you receive any kind of Colorado Hunting Licensing violation, you should consult with an attorney prior to pleading guilty and paying the fines, as you may have defenses or options to pursue.
Hunters and anglers who receive wildlife violations in Colorado face the difficult choice of paying the fines and pleading guilty or going to court to fight the charges. An attorney who specializes in helping hunters, guides, and outfitters with hunting and fishing violations in Colorado can help evaluate your case if you are facing criminal charges.
Colorado Fishing regulations define the daily possession limit for each species of fish that may be taken in the state. Those daily possession limits, and when the fish counts toward your possession limit, must be observed by anglers or they face receiving a Colorado Fishing violation that may end up with costly consequences.
Hunting and Fishing Outfitters like to hire independent contractors over employees for seasonal work, but if the contracts for those services fail to meet Department of Labor standards, the move could be more expensive than anticipated.
Outfitters, guides, or hunters facing charges of illegal sale of wildlife face possible felony charges and lifetime hunting suspension among other harsh penalties. Consulting with Colorado Hunting Violation Lawyer Nathaniel Gilbert can help you make your best decision when faced with Colorado Hunting Violations.
Landlords who perform their own evictions may run into more problems than they anticipate regarding a notice of eviction. Colorado laws regarding the written demand for possession are strict, and must be strictly complied with or the eviction case may be dismissed.
Colorado hunters and fishermen who receive hunting violations may face suspension of the hunting and fishing license for the foreseeable future. Addressing the ticket immediately before receiving another violation down the road is absolutely crucial for your best chance at retaining your outdoor privileges.
Colorado landlords and tenants have options when it comes to installing electric vehicle charging stations on their residential property rentals. Before deciding if the tenant or the landlord should be responsible for paying for the installation of the charging system, consult your lease and a Colorado Lease Lawyer for more information.
Outfitters and their guides in Colorado are regulated by the Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA). For outfitters establishing their business, DORA has several requirements related to how those business are conducted within the state of Colorado. In addition to rules on advertising, guarantees, and insurance requirements, DORA requires Outfitters to have certain provisions contained in their contracts that they use to provide outfitting and guiding services to consumers.
DORA requires Outfitting contracts to have six specific provisions. These provisions are: 1) The types of services to be provided, 2) Dates the services are to be provided, 3) Transportation arrangements and whether or not transportation is to be provided, 4) Actual costs of the services, 5) The ratio of clients to guides that will be maintained on the trip, and 6) The outfitter’s own policy on cancellations and refunds on deposits or costs.
While there are no specific requirements for each of these provisions and what they must look like, they absolutely must be contained in your contract in some form. Failure to include these provisions in your contract for outfitting services will prevent you from being able to maintain any action to recover funds owed to you under that contract.
Nate Gilbert, attorney in Colorado, has worked with these specific provisions provided by DORA on both ends: preparing compliant contracts and documents for Outfitters revamping or just starting up their business, as well as helping Outfitters respond to complaints from DORA regarding outfitting contract deficiencies. Scheduling a consultation with Nate regarding your outfitting services contracts BEFORE you violate these rules will help your business run more smoothly and efficiently as well as keep your outfitting compliant with Colorado law.
The decision to fight your hunting violation is a big one and shouldn't be taken lightly. Whether it is one small charge, or multiple charges with thousands of dollars in fines and multiple points assessed, you should consider consulting with an attorney about your rights and what possible defenses may be available to you.