Do You Need A Fishing License? Colorado Fishing License Requirements for Youth, Adults, and Seniors

Colorado's fly fishing is a world famous destination sport.  Knowing whether you need a license and what kind of license to buy can help you avoid getting a Colorado Fishing Violation while enjoying the one of a kind opportunity in the many streams, rivers and lakes open to fishing.  If you do receive a fishing ticket, it is important to speak with an attorney knowledgeable about fish and game laws as well as criminal defense in Colorado.

Colorado's fly fishing is a world famous destination sport.  Knowing whether you need a license and what kind of license to buy can help you avoid getting a Colorado Fishing Violation while enjoying the one of a kind opportunity in the many streams, rivers and lakes open to fishing.  If you do receive a fishing ticket, it is important to speak with an attorney knowledgeable about fish and game laws as well as criminal defense in Colorado.

Adults aged 16 years or older must purchase and have in their possession a fishing license in order to fish or take any fish in Colorado.  Youth aged under 16 years old may fish and take a full limit without a license.  Seniors aged 64 and older can obtain a fishing license for $1 (.25 search and rescue fee, .75 Wildlife Management Education Fund Surcharge).  Everyone who fishes with a second line, MUST obtain a second-rod stamp.  A fishing ticket for not having a license (or the right license) can have lasting repercussions on your ability to hunt and fish nationwide.

Before purchasing your fishing license, you must determine if you are a Colorado resident or not.  Giving information to a license agent before you know for sure whether you are a resident of Colorado for purposes of hunting and fishing licenses may land you in trouble with Colorado Parks and Wildlife and lead to the suspension of your hunting and fishing privileges.  To help determine if you are a Colorado resident for resident hunting and fishing privileges, Click Here.

Fishing licenses must always be in your possession while fishing or transporting your fish.  Colorado law requires anglers to carry their fishing license in their possession while they are fishing, and you should carry your license in your possession while going to and from the water in a readily handy place.  Officers enforcing game statutes are permitted to inspect your license if you are exercising any right given to you by that license, i.e., engaged in the act of fishing or if it appears that you are going or have been fishing.

Colorado Parks and Wildlife may also establish checkpoints going to and from Colorado fishing hot spots where you may be searched and asked to produce your fishing licenses and identification.  Any fishermen not in possession of their licenses or valid second-rod stamps may be given a fishing violation.  For more on Colorado Parks and Wildlife Fishing and Boating Checkpoints, Click Here.

If for some reason you are given a Colorado Fishing Violation, it is important that you understand your options and evaluate any defenses you may have.  Colorado Parks and Wildlife issues hundreds of fishing violations every year for licensing violations, daily limit violations and unlawful possession of fish, etc.  Colorado Fishing Violation Lawyer Nathaniel Gilbert helps fishermen and hunters evaluate their case and determine the best road to take.  Often, a plea bargain or some amendment to your charges can help preserve your hunting and fishing rights and lessen the consequences of a minor mistake.