If you receive a ticket in Colorado from a game warden for a hunting or fishing violation, you may be facing the loss of your hunting and fishing privileges in Colorado and across the nation. Colorado assigns different point values to different offenses based on the severity of the crime that has been allegedly committed. Accumulating enough of these points leads to a review of the offenses and your history by Colorado Parks and Wildlife who then have the authority to suspend or revoke your hunting and fishing privileges. For more information, check out our page, Hunting License Suspension Defense.
What Are License Suspension Points?
Every new hunter starts with 0 points on their hunting license in Colorado. Points are added based on the violations that you are convicted of or plead guilty to while hunting or fishing. License suspension points in Colorado are the point values assigned to each offense in addition to the fine you must pay. For example, the fine for trespass, or hunting without permission on private property, is $100 and carries a point assessment of 20 points. A hunter convicted of trespassing would have to pay $100 and have 20 points added to his hunting license.
When Do I Get My License Suspended?
Accumulating 20 or more points on your hunting license in any 5 year period means that individual will be “considered for suspension” by the CPW Commission or an individual delegated by the Commission. After a review of your case, the commission then decides whether you should be suspended and for how long.
The kind of violation, whether hunting or fishing, does not matter for the purposes of accumulation during the five year period. If a hunter receives 5 points on his license, for a simple hunting licensing violation in 2010, and then receives another 10 points on his license for failure to wear blaze orange in 2012, and finally another 5 point violation for a fishing license violation in 2014, the individual will have 20 points on his license in a five year period and be considered for review.
What Is The Process For Having My Hunting and Fishing License Suspended or Revoked?
When the individual accumulates these points, the individual MUST be notified and given an opportunity to present his or her case. Without this due process, the State may NOT revoke your hunting or fishing privileges in Colorado. Once you have either declined your right to a hearing or the hearing has been held, the commission decides whether, and for how long your hunting and fishing privileges may be revoked.
If you receive a hunting or fishing violation in Colorado and are worried about your future hunting and fishing privileges or losing your license, consult with qualified Colorado Hunting Violation Attorney Nate Gilbert. Nate can help determine if you are facing suspension of your hunting privileges and how to best address your issues during a no-cost initial consultation. Remember though, that paying the ticket is pleading guilty, and you will lose your defenses if you do so.