What Is The Fine For Trespassing In Colorado?

Colorado has several public hunting areas available from the Front Range and eastern plains to the Rockies and western slope.  Private land hunting opportunities are also plentiful, but hunters, fishermen, and other recreational adventurers MUST have permission before venturing onto private property. 

Some states require landowners to post their property with signs to prevent hunters being able to access the property without permission.  There are no requirements in Colorado for landowners to post their property with "No Hunting" signs, although most do to reiterate the point.  Trespassing in Colorado means being on private property without permission, regardless of the presence of signage.

Some states require landowners to post their property with signs to prevent hunters being able to access the property without permission.  There are no requirements in Colorado for landowners to post their property with "No Hunting" signs, although most do to reiterate the point.  Trespassing in Colorado means being on private property without permission, regardless of the presence of signage.

What Is The Fine For Trespassing In Colorado?

Trespassing is a $100 fine in Colorado.  In addition, the charge of trespassing carries an assessment of 20 license suspension points.  While the fine itself may not seem like a large amount, having 20 license suspension points assessed against you for pleading guilty to or being convicted of trespassing will lead to suspension of your hunting and fishing privileges.  Trespassing is a strict liability crime, meaning you can be found guilty even if you did not know you were, or did not intend to trespass onto someone’s private property.

In addition to the fine for trespassing, you may face additional fines if you successfully harvested any game while trespassing.  The fines for Illegal Possession of Wildlife can range up to $10,000 per animal, with additional fines for trophy animals of up to another $25,000.00.  Trespassing to harvest one trophy big-horn sheep could earn you a charge of $125,000.00 and a lifetime hunting suspension! (33-6-109(3)(b),3.4(a)(V)).

Fishermen and anglers must be careful when floating streams or pulling their boats onto shorelines.  Trespassing while fishing is a common occurrence when folks decide to fish without knowing where the property boundaries for rivers, streams, and lakes begin and end.  While you may have started on property you either had permission to fish, or a public area, you may find yourself downstream or across the lake in unfamiliar territory.  As stated above, trespassing is trespassing whether you meant to or not.

When you have been issued a Colorado Hunting Violation for Trespassing, it is important to think through your options and consult with an attorney.  Attorney Nate Gilbert has helped numerous individuals in Colorado and Kansas navigate their trespassing charges and can help you to make the right decision.  For more information on How To Fight A Trespassing Ticket, Click Here.  To read more about how Nate Gilbert helps hunters, guides, and outfitters with legal concerns, Click Here